AINSVR PhD ‘Thesis in Three’ Competition 5 June 2024


On 5 June University of Limerick hosted our online PhD ‘Thesis in Three’ Competition. We had a total of 6 participants and the competition was judged by Ms Jolena Flett, Victim Support Northern Ireland, Dr Sinead Ring, Maynooth University, and Dr Susan Leahy, Univerity of Limerick with Dr Eithne Dowds, Queen’s University Belfast acting as Chair.

All of the presentations were excellent, and it was incredibly difficult to choose a winner, but the panel were extremely impressed by Niamh Burns, The University of Brighton, ‘The invisibility of sexual, and gender-based violence (SGBV) in the Northern Irish conflict (between 1968 and 1998) and the implications of shedding light on this phenomenon on social policy and policy processes’ who was chosen as the winner. Many congratulations Niamh!

Our other participants were:

  • Ciara Buckley (Dublin City University), Understanding and Responding to Sexual Violence in the LGBTQ+ Community.
  • Chloe Hanna (Queen’s University Belfast), He Who Shall Not be Named? Rethinking Northern Ireland’s Approach to Defendant Anonymity.
  • Daniel Kane (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland), Sexual Assault Treatment Units: The Irish Experience.
  • Kirsten McGregor (Queen’s Univerity Belfast), Assessing the feasibility and viability of a victim-led Restorative Justice system for cases of serious sexual violence in Northern Ireland.
  • Ann Ryan (Univerity College Dublin), An Exploratory Human Rights Informed Study of CASP as Experienced by those who have made Adult Disclosures of Child Sexual Abuse.